Tuesday, June 18, 2024
HomePoliticsShake up as Kindiki transfers county commissioners, recalls others to Harambee House

Shake up as Kindiki transfers county commissioners, recalls others to Harambee House

By Kayugira Dante

Interior Cabinet Secretary Kithure Kindiki has made drastic changes in the National Government Administrative Officers (NGAO) by transferring county commissioners while recalling others to Harambee House in Nairobi.

Four county commissioners have been recalled to Harambee house, 15 will remain at their current stations and 20 of them have been transferred to new stations.

Twelve Deputy County Commissioners have also been made County Commissioners. With eight others getting marching orders.

Interior Cabinet Secretary Kithure Kindiki (right) with President William Ruto (left)- Photo/Courtesy

“In order to enhance service delivery within the National Administration, changes have been made among County Commissioners in all the 47 Counties of the Republic of Kenya with effect from March 7, 2023,” read in part Prof Kindiki’s statement

County Commissioners from Nandi (Herman Shambi), Mathias Rioba (Trans Nzoia), Michael Ivuto (Kirinyaga) and Stephen Kihara (Embu) have been recalled to the ministry headquarters.

In the new changes,  Gideon Oyagi from Kwale County has been  transfered to Trans – Nzioa, Josephine Auko from  Kisumu to Busia county and Onesmus Kyatha from Mandera to Nyamira County among others.

“These changes are not meant to punish anyone, but rather to ensure that we have the best people in the right positions to serve the people of Kenya,” Kindiki said

In his statement Kindiki expects the changes to be done with an immediate effect without seeing it as a punishment.




Most Popular

Recent Comments