Thursday, May 23, 2024
HomeKenya NewsGovernor Barasa rewards his henchmen, dumps Oparanya Orphans as he unveils his...

Governor Barasa rewards his henchmen, dumps Oparanya Orphans as he unveils his maiden cabinet

By Seliphar Musungu, Kakamega

Kakamega county Governor Fernandes Barasa today named his cabinet and rewarded his cronies.

Governor dropped all the County Executive Committee Members (CECM) who served in the Governor Wycliffe Oparanya’s administration

 Barasa named his CEC members together with his chief officers with majority of them being his political allies who helped him rise to the governorship seat

Barasa rewarded his Deputy Ayub Savula with the department of Trade, Industrialization and Tourism, Former Cabinet Administrative Secretary of Agriculture Lawrence Omuhaka in former President Uhuru Kenyatta’s government will head the Public Service docket.

“It has been a very competitive process which commenced in September. These are the people who are going to help us deliver on our mandate. I would like to start by unveiling my executive and the first appointment that I am unveiling is the chief executive committee member for trade industrialization and tourism will be Ayub Savula who is also my deputy. The second appointment in the department of Public Service and county administration will be headed by Lawrence Angolo Omuhaka.” Said Barasa     

Others are St Joseph’s Boys Kitale Principal, Godfrey Owour (Education), Kakamega ODM chair Mophat Mandela (Social Service, Sports, Youth, Gender and Culture) and former Health CECM Peninah who will head the department of Lands and Housing.

 Benjamin Andama who stepped down from his senatorial race in the ODM party was awarded the department of Agriculture. 

“Department of Agriculture, livestock, Fisheries and Cooperatives will be headed by Benjamin Andama, Department of Lands, Housing, Urban areas and Physical Planning will be headed by Peninah Mukabane. The Department of Social Services, Sports, Youth and Gender and Culture will be headed by Mophat Mandela, Department of education, science and technology will be headed by Godfrey Owuor.” Said Barasa   

Others are Livingstone Imbai (Finance), Rachael Caro (Communication and ICT), Dr. Bernard Wesonga (Health), Mariam Barasa (Water) and Patrick Wesonga (Roads).

“The task is now upon the members of the county assembly to vet the nominees to see if they are the correct candidates to work in the cabinet.” said Barasa



Most Popular

Recent Comments