Tuesday, June 18, 2024
HomeKenya NewsJoel Okwako, ex-PA to Lurambi MP Bishop Khamala, Victoria Zilla and Sylvia...

Joel Okwako, ex-PA to Lurambi MP Bishop Khamala, Victoria Zilla and Sylvia Muteshi (Senje) nominated to Kakamega County Assembly

Timothy Aseka, Doris Matere and Sarah Netia among those nominated to serve a second term at the assembly

By Seliphar Musungu,Kakamega 

Lurambi MP Bishop Titus Khamala’s long serving Personal Assistant (PA) Joel Okwako has been nominated to Kakamega County Assembly by the Democratic Action Party of Kenya (DAP-K).

Mr Okwako is the DAP-K executive director of Kakamega County. Prior to that, he was ANC secretary for Kakamega County. Prior to becoming Khamala’s PA,he served as his blogger in the run up to the 2017 general elections.

Joel Okwako charity work

His journey to the top has not been a bed of roses. First, he was a grave digger at Mbarak cemetery in Mombasa, worked as a casual labourer at the Kenya Ports Authority (KPA), roasted maize and hawked groundnuts and also was employed by a commercial sex worker for babysitting services at sh50 daily.  

He has also worked a painter for One Acre Fund. 

Two years ago, he had a near death experience after undergoing a botched laparoscopic appendectomy surgery and went into a coma for five days. He was airlifted to Nairobi for specialized treatment and came back to his feet. His father and mother succumbed to cancer.

The Gazette Notice

In the run up to the 2022 polls, Okwako ditched ANC party and joined DAP-K where he was instrumental in popularising the party in the region, the reason the party nominated him as a ward rep.

IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati in a special gazette notice dated September 9, this year gazetted all nominated ward reps across the country.

Besides Okwako, Victoria Zilah from the NGO world and Doreen Muyonga were also nominated by DAP-K.

The Gazette Notice

Timothy Aseka has been nominated for the second time by ANC to represent Persons Living with Disability (PwDs). Roselyne Katibi Akoyi was nominated by ODM to represent PwDs while Amos Liyayi Munasya will represent the youth in the assembly under the ODM party.

Former Kholera MCA Godliver Omondi has also been nominated by ODM to the assembly. He ones serves as a nominated senator between 2013-2017. Others who were nominated by ODM include, Sylvia Muteshi Atamba, Zurack Nyongesa, Bervelyne  Osieno, Anne Mulwale, Jael Omunami,Phaustine Werimo, Angela Makokha, Sarah Netia, Everlyne Were and Isabel Mung’asia. 

ODM Nominated MCA Sylvia Muteshi alias Senje

Doris Matere has been nominated for the second time by ANC party to the assembly. Others nominated on ANC party are Ruth Ombayo, Niver Oluchiri, Truphena Asembo, Mary Victorina and Rosemary Emonde.

Mercy Luseno and Daphiniey Lihavi were nominated by UDA, Cynthia Livoli was nominated by Kanu,Scholastic Shiraku by MDP and Christine Imbosa by UDP. 



Most Popular

Recent Comments