Busia Assembly Adjourns Sittings To Allow Members Participate In Party Primaries


The County Assembly of Busia today adjourned its sittings for 32 days to enable elected and nominated members who are contesting various positions in the August 9th, 2022 General Election participate in party primaries.

The motion for adjournment was moved by Leader of Majority in the Assembly, Hon Kassaman Ekesa and seconded by Malaba Central Member of the County Assembly, Hon Benard Ibella Papa in the session chaired by a member of the Speaker’s Panel and nominated MCA, Hon Nancy Okademi.

Hon Okademi said due to Independent, Electoral and Boundaries Commission Calendar for party nominations that will run from April 10-22, 2022, the assembly will adjourn for 32 days from March 24th to April 26th, 2022.

“However, Hon Okademi noted that the assembly will convene a special sitting on March 31st, 2022 when the Governor will deliver State of the County Address, and when the Budget estimates for the Financial Year 2022/2023 will be tabled and debated,” she said.

Hon Ekesa said the adjournment was meant to give members ample time and an enabling environment to prepare for party primaries that will guarantee them slots at the ballot if they go through.

Hon Papa said although few members will not defend their seats, he was optimistic most of them will sail through the primaries, urging them not to be worried but put God first, and no doubt they will conquer the race,” he said.

Out of 35 elected MCAs, three will not defend their seats. They are Deputy Speaker and Angurai North MCA, Hon Lawrence Okaale Murunga, Hon. Taabu Were (Bunyala West) and Hon Felix Omanyi (Bunyala Central).

Hon Okaale while announcing his decision not to defend his MCA seat which he won for the first time in 2017 promised to give his next move in due course.

Hon Were said he opted out of the race owing to age factor with his political career spanning for about 27 years, adding that he has passed the baton to the youth to carry on from where he has left.

Hon Omanyi said he opted out of the gruelling contest on health grounds after being advised by his doctor to keep out of active politics.

Seven nominated MCAs will participate in the primaries. They are Hon Forence Ologi (MP, Matayos Constituency, Margaret Achungo (Nambale Central Ward), Florence Owuor ( Marachi Central Ward), Novena Ndaliro and Halimah Hussein (Burumba Ward) and Benard Odako and Patrick Obongoya (Bunyala North).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here