Busia Deputy County Secretary, Four Chief Officers Resign To Venture Into Politics


By Reuben Olita

Deputy County Secretary (DCS) and four Chief Officers have quit their positions in the County Government of Busia to seek elective positions at the August 9th, 2022 polls.

Deputy County Secretary, CPA Evalyne Ikwii Omasaja tendered her resignation on February 9th, 2022 to venture into politics where she will contest for the Busia Woman Representative seat.

The position is held by Hon Florence Mutua who is vying for the seat of Governor after serving for two terms. Others in the gruelling race include Deputy Governor, H.E Moses Mulomi, Dr Paul Otuoma, Lucas Meso, John Bunyasi and Daniel Mogoria.

Mogoria, until his resignation was the Chief Officer Education and Vocational Training. He is the only contestant from Teso Region to enter the race hoping to succeed incumbent, H.E Sospeter Ojaamong as the Governor of the great county of Busia.

Other Chief Officers who relinguished their positions include Dr Isaac Omeri (Health and Sanitation) who will want to succeed Hon Bunyasi as the Nambale Member of Parliament. Lydia Nabwire (ICT and Communication) will vie for the seat of Woman Representative.

Five staff members also resigned to try their luck in the political arena. Director Protocol and Liaison, Peter Hillary Mainga will try to unseat Hon John Oganga as Marachi West Member of the County Assembly. He stood as Senator in 2017 polls.

Kaunda Charles Atelu who was the Roads Inspector at the Department of Infrastructure and Energy will strive to win the Amukura Central seat that is currently held by Moses Ouma.

Kenneth Imwene Ichasi who was serving as Liaison Officer in the Governor’s office will try to reclaim the Malaba North Ward seat which he held in the first assembly before losing to incumbent, Hon Patrick Omanyala.

” My record as the area MCA spoke for itself. I want to reclaim my seat to enable me complete some projects I initiated in the Ward,” he said after tendering his resignation.

Simon Oruchum who was until his resignation a Protocol Officer, will contest the Malaba Central Ward seat currently held by Hon Bernard Ibella Papa while another Protocol Officer, Godfrey Odongo will face off with incumbent, Mwajuma Toloi for Nambale Township Ward seat.

The onus is now on the Governor, H.E Ojaamong to replace those who have relinquished their positions to ensure seamless flow of services.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here