Story/Reuben Olita

ODM Members of the Busia County Assembly on Tuesday replaced Kingandole MCA, Hon Eric Kaibe as the Chief Whip.

The polls that were presided over by ODM County vice chairman, Patrick Obongoya saw 22 MCAs who are members of the Orange Party voted unanimously to replace Kaibe with five, including the outgoing Chief Whip abstaining.

The ODM members who voted to replace Kaibe included Novena Ndaliro, Joab Oteba, Moses Ouma, Linus Asiba, Christine Owuor, Simon Asuka, Angela Nafula, Hawa Ismail, Mwajuma Toloyi, Lawrence Okaale, Zainab Muyoti, Vincent Olumbe, Margaret Awino, Ologi Atieno, Maurine Wabwire, David Kokonya, John Obeogo, Casper Ajuma, Kassaman Ekesa and Patrick Obongoya.

The party had nominated two members to vie for the seat but nominated MCA, Ologi Atieno opted out in favour of the Namboboto/Nambuku Ward MCA.

ODM County vice chairman, Patrick Obongoya said they opted to replace Hon Kaibe over his alleged failure to execute his duties as required of him.

Olumbe said his immediate task will be to bring members together, unite the MCAs with the executive and improve the welfare of members.

Nafula said ODM is the largest majority party in the assembly, thus the need to have a person who can handle our affairs better.

Hon Eric Kaibe said he is not aware of the change, promising to issue a comprehensive statement later.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here