Reprieve For 7 Members Of Malaba Municipality Board As Busia Assembly Approves Their Nominations


The County Assembly of Busia has approved the nomination of seven people for the position of Member of the Malaba Municipality Board.

Those whose names were approved unanimously include Immaculate Amoit Idewa Nafula, Bishop Michael Kioo Mutulu, Solomon Akadake Abwaku, Stephen Omuse Ijaja, Julius Tom Ekwenye, Rose Mercy Omoit and Professor Olubayi Olubayi.
The speaker, Bernard Wamalwa said the names will be forwarded to Busia Governor H.E Sospeter Ojaamong for subsequent appointment to enable them start executing their duties in the second municipality to be created in the County after Busia.
The Committee on Planning, Trade Tourism, Cooperatives and Industrialization chaired by Malaba Central MCA Bernard Papa in its report cleared all the nominees based on their suitability, ability, integrity and pursuant to Section 13 and 14 of the Urban Areas and Cities Act 2016 and as amended in 2019, section 8 of the County Government Act, the Busia Standing Orders 44 and 191 and the provision of the public appointment act no. 5 of 2017.
The committee conducted the vetting exercise on April 9, 2021 where it engaged the nominees orally as well as examining their testimonials before arriving at the decision to approve or disapprove their appointments.
Hon Papa urged residents of Malaba Municipality to accord the new board an opportunity to discharge their duties and stop engaging in sideshows which will derail the development agenda of the municipality.
“All the nominees are our sons and daughters drawn from all the four Wards making up the Municipality namely Malaba Central, Malaba South, Malaba North and Amukura West.
Mr Ijaja hails from Malaba South, Ms Idewa is from Amukura West, Mr Ekwenye has a residence in Malaba North while Ms Omoit and Prof Olubayi Olubayi are residents of Malaba Central.
“There is need to have faith in the nominees whose wealth of experience will catapult the new municipality to greater heights considering its strategic location,” said Hon Papa.
All the members who made their contributions including Moses Ochieng (Burumba Ward), Okodoi Maskini (Chakol South), Grace Olita (Angurai South), Patrick Omanyala ( Malaba North), Mwajuma Toloi ( Nambale Township), Abiud Ochilang’ole (Amukura West), and Nancy Okademi and Patrick Ombongoya (nominated) said the choice of the nominees was laudable.
Hon Ombongoya challenged the nominees not to sit on their laurels but strive and offer good services to the people of Malaba Municipality.
With Busia County now boasting of two municipalities, the MCAs said next Municipalities to be created will be Nambale, Bumala and Port Victoria in that order.
Hon Okodoi Maskini and Grace Olita urged the assembly to consider elevating Adongos and Angurai markets respectively into Town Council status to bring services closer to the people.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here